This law bans brass knuckles, throwing stars, switchblades (and other automatic knives), and ballistic knives in the state of Illinois. Now while Id say a 4inch blade is fine Im no lawyer or anything so I may be wrong but I do believe thats what the law was saying. From what I saw any blade over 3inches is considered a dangerous weapon but a dangerous weapon is Legal as long as youre not doing anything illegal with it. TermsPrivacyDisclaimerCookiesDo Not Sell My Information, Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select, Please enter a legal issue and/or a location, Begin typing to search, use arrow Also if I can in Chicago whenever I go there. Purely for self defense. Not everyone with an Auto has the intent of being a little gangbanger. Under Limits on Storage and Possession, Unauthorized Possession or Storage of Weapons: (a) Whoever POSSESSES or stores any weapon enumerated in Section 33A-1 [720 ILCS 5/33A-1] IN ANY BUILDING OR ON LAND SUPPORTED IN WHOLE OR IN PART WITH PUBLIC FUNDS OR IN ANY BUILDING ON SUCH LAND WITHOUT PRIOR WRITTEN PERMISSION FROM THE CHIEF SECURITY OFFICER FOR SUCH LAND OR BUILDING, COMMITS A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR. Brass Knuckles and the Law Views on this weapon differ from one state to the next. And in all seriousness considered strapping it on when I go for my nightly walk. they are too small or in an odd shape that prevent their use. Keep in mind that Im not allowed by law to give you official legal advice, so my disclaimer is that you need to get official advice from legal counsel in the state of Illinois. Who are u? Brass knuckles, also called "knuckle dusters" and "knucks," are used as offensive and defensive weapons. -Electronic copy of training certificate(s). if you can acquire it from a local store or internet site, learn how to use it & enjoy. Ok I live in chicago can I open carry a knife and if so how long. My client told me that hes had the brass knuckles since he was a teenager and had no idea that he co